All posts tagged: Scott Cawelti

The Roth Show: Scott Cawelti, Author of Brother’s Blood: A Heartland Cain and Abel

Wednesdays from  7-8pm ET Listen LIVE: http://therothshow.com Join Dr. Laurie Roth and Susan Murphy Milano each Wednesday from 7-8ET Author and Professor Scott Cawelti grew up in a small, quiet Midwestern town in Iowa which was rocked to its core in 1976 when a complete family, including 2 small children, was violently annihilated in their home. Brother’s Blood: A Heartland Cain and Abel (Ice Cube Press) relates the true story of murder, anger and greed within a family considered pillars of the community. Jerry Mark, Cawelti’s high school friend,  was a Peace Corps volunteer, lawyer, 4-H leader, vice-president of his Cedar Falls High School senior class, and certainly a most likely-to-succeed young man when he graduated in 1960. Sixteen years later he was convicted of four cold-blooded execution-style murders of his own family. This book is not a whodunit but a whydunit. This account engages readers with the actual facts: the killer’s cross-country motorcycle ride, the landmark investigation in which the murderer was fingered in ten days, the trial where circumstantial evidence was used to make a powerful case against him, …

BROTHER’S BLOOD Author, Scott Cawelti, on True Crime Uncensored

Listen Live Saturday 2pm PT/ 4pm CT/ 5pm ET/ 10pm UK  via Outlaw Radio or use the Outlaw Radio app for Iphones, Droids, etc. Or listen via Itunes (Outlaw Radio under News/Talk) AUTHOR SCOTT CAWELTI SCOTT CAWELTI was born and raised in Cedar Falls, Iowa. He taught writing, film, and literature courses at the University of Northern Iowa from 1968-2008, and writes regular opinion columns and reviews for the Waterloo Courier. He has co-authored two writing textbooks and edited The Complete Poetry of James Hearst (University of Iowa Press, 2001). Having a BA in vocal music, he played for years in a folk duo with Robert James Waller and still regularly performs as a singer/guitarist/songwriter. On December 5, 2010, he released “Landscape Iowa: 16 James Hearst Poems, Sung” a collection of Hearst poems for which he wrote music and performs with 12 other musicians. (Available on iTunes and Amazon.com.) I was absolutely fascinated from the get-go, and not a single section so boring or redundant that I wanted to skim; not even the trial.  And I love …