Diane Fanning
Comments 4

Celebrating Her 20th Book! Diane Fanning’s Latest True Crime Releasing in April 2013

Diane Fanning,ImaginePublicity

Described as one of True Crime genre’s premier authors, Diane Fanning brings forth yet another story her readers yearn to understand. Her impeccable research into many high-profile crimes such as the death of Caylee Anthony in Mommy’s Little Girl, and attending the trial of Michael Peterson in North Carolina for Written in Blood, brings to the reader the facts they need to grasp the horror of the victims who have been silenced.

Diane Fanning,ImaginePublicity

Diane Fanning’s 20th book, Sleep My Darlings, scheduled for an April 30, 2013 release, puts another notch in the belt of the Edgar Award Finalist author. Sleep My Darlings is the true story of Julie Schenecker who shot and killed her two teen children, 16-year-old Calyx and 13-year-old Beau, in their home in Tampa, Florida. Prosecutors are seeking the death penalty in the trial, scheduled for October 2013, while the defense attorneys are looking to plead insanity.

Speculation about the mental state of Julie Schenecker and what was going on within her family preceding the murder of her two children, has been an area of research by Fanning for her upcoming book, along with sifting through available documents to bring the reader factual information with which to base their opinions. Sleep My Darlings is available for pre-order through Amazon.com and will be available in local bookstores across the nation April 30.

Along with writing true crime and covering high-profile cases, Diane Fanning is also the author of the Lucinda Pierce series of crime novels. The sixth book in the series, Wrong Turn, was released in January 2013 and inspired by Fanning’s experience with the case of Julie Rea, who was serving a 65-year-sentence for the murder of her 10-year-old son, Joel Kirkpatrick.

In a recent article for the monthly webzine, The Big Thrill, Fanning describes her involvement with the Julie Rea case as her life’s crowning achievement.  While researching her book, Through the Window, Fanning corresponded with serial killer Tommy Lynn Sells who subsequently confessed to the killing of Joel Kirkpatrick. Working with the Center on Wrongful Conviction at Northwestern University in Chicago, her book had indeed become a catalyst to right a horrible wrong.  Her testimony assisted in Julie Rea’s acquittal and earned her the coveted Defender of the Innocent Award from the Downstate Illinois Innocence Project.

The latest in the crime mystery series, Wrong Turn, has Lt. Lucinda Pierce faced with the possibilities of unjustly carrying out her Diane Fanning, Lucinda Pierce, ImaginePublicityduties at the expense of freedom and additional crimes, or incarcerating the wrong person. Lucinda Pierce faces one of the toughest tests of law enforcement, with her investigation and credibility on the line in the search for truth and justice. Wrong Turn is available at all online and local book retailers.

….Multiple cases, interesting details of police work, and well-drawn characters, especially the complex, principled Lucinda, drive this fast-paced mystery that will appeal to readers who enjoy strong women protagonists…..Book List

Lt. Lucinda Pierce is shocked to learn from her boss that her last promotion wasn’t wholly on merit, in Edgar-finalist Fanning’s solid sixth mystery featuring the Virginia homicide detective (after 2011’s False Front)….Publisher’s Weekly

Diane Fanning  has appeared on THE TODAY SHOW, 48 HOURS, 20/20, BIOGRAPHY, JUSTICE WITH JUDGE JEANINE and numerous shows on MSNBC, E! and INVESTIGATION DISCOVERY networks. Born in Baltimore, Maryland, she lived in Virginia for two decades before settling in New Braunfels, Texas.

Sleep My Darlings Book Details:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s True Crime; 1 edition (April 30, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312945086
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312945084

Wrong Turn Book Details:

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers (January 1, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0727881876
  • ISBN-13: 978-0727881878

To learn more about Diane Fanning and a complete list of her books, please visit her website.


  1. Pingback: Diane Fanning….Twenty Books Later…. « Donna R. Gore

  2. Pingback: Shattered Lives: Presents True Crime Author Diane Fanning, Celebrating Her 20th Book Release! | ImaginePublicity

  3. Pingback: Crime Wire: Let’s Hear it for the GIRLS! Sheryl McCollum joins Guest Hosts, Kim Kolton and Delilah Jones | ImaginePublicity

  4. Pingback: “Author,Author!” NEW Segment on The Dr. Laurie Roth Show Debuts with Diane Fanning | ImaginePublicity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s