Diane Fanning
Comments 4

Latest Book in Lucinda Pierce Series by Diane Fanning WRONG TURN!

Diane Fanning, Lucinda Pierce, ImaginePublicity

Diane Fanning, best-selling true crime author, presents


the sixth book in her Lucinda Pierce crime novel series


Along with writing true crime and covering high-profile cases, Diane Fanning is also the author of the Lucinda Pierce series of crime novels. The sixth book in the series, Wrong Turn, was released in January 2013 and inspired by Fanning’s experience with the case of Julie Rea, who was serving a 65-year-sentence for the murder of her 10-year-old son, Joel Kirkpatrick.

In a recent article for the monthly webzine, The Big Thrill, Fanning describes her involvement with the Julie Rea case as her life’s crowning achievement.  While researching her book, Through the Window, Fanning corresponded with serial killer Tommy Lynn Sells who subsequently confessed to the killing of Joel Kirkpatrick. Working with the Center on Wrongful Conviction at Northwestern University in Chicago, her book had indeed become a catalyst to right a horrible wrong.  Her testimony assisted in Julie Rea’s acquittal and earned her the coveted Defender of the Innocent Award from the Downstate Illinois Innocence Project.

The latest in the crime mystery series, Wrong Turn, has Lt. Lucinda Pierce faced with the possibilities of unjustly carrying out her duties at the expense of freedom and additional crimes, or incarcerating the wrong person. Lucinda Pierce faces one of the toughest tests of law enforcement, with her investigation and credibility on the line in the search for truth and justice. Wrong Turn is available at all online and local book retailers.

….Multiple cases, interesting details of police work, and well-drawn characters, especially the complex, principled Lucinda, drive this fast-paced mystery that will appeal to readers who enjoy strong women protagonists…..Book List

Lt. Lucinda Pierce is shocked to learn from her boss that her last promotion wasn’t wholly on merit, in Edgar-finalist Fanning’s solid sixth mystery featuring the Virginia homicide detective (after 2011’s False Front)….Publisher’s Weekly

The gripping sixth title in the popular Lucinda Pierce series sees the homicide investigator’s own judgment put under serious scrutiny . . . When the landlady of Brad Loving’s vacated house rings pest control over what she suspects is a dead rat, a shocking discovery is made – five bodies, two of which are skeletal. One of the bodies is that of Emily Sherman, whose stepmother, Martha, Homicide Investigator Lucinda Pierce helped convict for Emily’s murder. As doubts are raised over the investigation and another of Lucinda’s previous cases, and her young friend, Charley Spencer, is arrested on suspicion of vandalism, Lucinda faces her toughest test yet . . .

Best known for her books about high profile true crime cases like Mommy’s Little Girl and Written in Blood, Fanning’s crime novels featuring the Lucinda Pierce character are gaining in popularity.  Pierce is a no nonsense homicide detective and the five previous books follow her and the cases she investigates. In the first book, The Trophy Exchange, readers are introduced to a severely disfigured woman who develops into hard as nails detective with a heart as big as Texas in subsequent books.

“This is a fantastic series featuring Lt. Lucinda Pierce of the homicide department. She is a tough, don’t mess with me woman who is severely disfigured when we meet her in the first book. Fanning has really developed Lucinda’s character and you can’t help but fall in love with her because under that tough, bitchy exterior is a woman with the heart of ten people who just wants justice and her life back to what it was before. 

A must read for anyone who loves a roller coaster mystery!”

If you haven’t started reading the series, head on over to Amazon to order all of the Lucinda Pierce books including WRONG TURN!  

WRONG TURN Book Details:

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers (January 1, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0727881876
  • ISBN-13: 978-0727881878


  1. Pingback: Hope and Resources Expand for Innocent Women | Janice Gable Bashman

  2. Pingback: Yes, Virginia! Diane Fanning Signing Books in October! | ImaginePublicity

  3. Pingback: Hope and Resources Expand for Innocent Women

  4. That Lucinda Pierce! Such a “multifaceted individual” Congrats, Diane! Donna -“Ladyjustice”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s